Hail Spirit Noir – Oi Magoi (2014)

Do you love the 60’s psychedelic rock? 70’s prog rock? How about black metal? Any of the above? Well then this band is for you! Hail Spirit Noir, originating from Greece, released their second full-length outing, Oi Magoi (that’s fun to say), on January 20th.

This is the first time I’ve heard of these guys, and I’ll tell you, the first time I saw the genre tags I was thinking, “ha! There’s no way this is any good.” These madmen proved me wrong. Seriously. Take Satan and throat wrenching screams, throw in a bit of mushrooms, and bam! Hail Spirit Noir. I’m almost at a loss for words on how to describe it, but you have to listen to it to understand it. I know it’s still early, but I think this will be making an appearance on at least my year end lists, if not many more.

Favorite tracks: Demon For a Day, Satan Is Time, The Mermaid, Hunters

You can find more info on their facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hail-Spirit-Noir/260062670728238 and stream a few tracks on their myspace, https://myspace.com/hailspiritnoir.

Leave a Reply

